Established 1826 — Oldest College Newspaper West of the Alleghenies

ASG elects nine new senators


Miami University’s Associated Student Government (ASG) held seven elections for senator positions at its Sept. 21 meeting.

Elections were held at this meeting for Farmer School of Business (FSB) Academic Senator, Off-Campus Senator, On-Campus Senator for districts 4, 6, 7 and 8, and Senator-at-Large.

The first election held was for the position of FSB Academic Senator. Sophomore business economics major Maria DeVictor ran unopposed for the position and was elected after expressing interest in improving diversity, equity and inclusion in FSB.

Three candidates – junior political science major Dan Pollock, sophomore social justice studies major Julian Bialous, and junior political science and strategic communications major Maggie Walker – ran for the three open Off-Campus Senator seats.

Pollock highlighted his experience interning at a public defender’s office and said he’d advocate for the rights of off-campus students if elected.

Bialous said he would be an outlet for students to voice their concerns and seek to improve understanding between students and faculty.

Walker said she would seek to install more menstrual product receptacles across campus and improve the quality of Oxford’s public transportation system.

All three candidates were elected.

First-years Jake Oxley, Jack Latham and Zachary Roemer ran for the two open On-Campus District 4 Senator seats.

Oxley said he would seek to encourage students to become involved on campus to foster a sense of belonging if elected.

Latham said he would work on environmental initiatives and try to find ways to reduce coursework costs for students.

Roemer said he would focus on initiatives related to equitable cleaning standards and equitable accessibility.

Enjoy what you're reading?
Signup for our newsletter

Latham and Roemer were elected.

First-years Joseph Bisset and Alex Ciabattari ran for one District 6 Senator position. First-year Lily Durzinsky was also scheduled to run, but she had to leave before the election took place and was thus disqualified.

Bisset discussed his background as a hockey player and a graduate from a Jesuit high school and said he would seek to represent the entire student body in his work.

Ciabattari said he would work on reducing the stigma around mental health and help students cope with their student loan debt.

ASG voted no confidence for the position, so another election will be held at a later date.

Sophomores Christopher Scott and Matthew Hollon ran for one District 7 Senator position.

Scott said he would hold weekly town hall meetings for constituents to meet with him and promote a free marketplace of ideas if elected.

Hollon said he would work on extending dining hall hours and improving building conditions.

Hollon was elected.

First-years Clara Hemrick and Maysa Constandinidis ran for the two District 8 seats.

Hemrick discussed her passion for reproductive rights and said she would seek to make contraceptives more accessible to students.

Constandinidis, who is Palestinian, talked about the struggles she’s faced as an Arab student and said she would focus on initiatives that make students feel safer and more accepted on campus.

Both candidates were elected.

In the final election of the night, sophomore political science major Ethan Stack ran uncontested for the Senator-at-Large position.

Stack, who was an on-campus senator last year, said he would work on addressing sexual assault by requiring resident assistants to educate their residents on consent and use ASG to draw attention to the recent rise in hate crimes.

Stack was elected.

ASG’s next meeting will be on Tuesday, Sept. 28 at 6:15 p.m. in the Joslin Senate Chamber.