Established 1826 — Oldest College Newspaper West of the Alleghenies

Concerts are back, baby. Here’s where to find them

Who knew that a year of social distancing would make me miss concerts so much? 

I missed the weird parts, like smelling the body odor and sweat of strangers. I missed the fun part, like jumping and dancing in a mosh pit.

I missed the parts that reminded me I was human on this strange planet, like crying with 300 strangers to the music of someone who doesn’t even know we exist. 

COVID-19 restrictions canceled concerts for the majority of 2020. Music lovers could share their thoughts through technology, but the effect wasn’t the same. Apps like TikTok have changed the way we listen to and experience music. We no longer have to travel hours to a concert or go to a record store to find music lovers who share our same tastes. 

But there’s something to be said for live, in-person events. 

The connection between artist and audience can’t be found online. Even a live streamed concert doesn’t produce the same energy as a concert in a dimly-lit stadium with flashing neon lights and bass notes you can feel through the floor. 

Lucky for us, the widespread administering of COVID-19 vaccines has meant a surge in concerts around the country. Miami students can catch up with their favorite artists at these upcoming events in Cincinnati and Columbus venues: 

Riverbend Music Center (Cincinnati)

  • Dierks Bentley “Beers on Me” - Friday, Oct. 8 at 7 p.m. 

  • Lynyrd Skynyrd “Big Wheels Keep On Turnin’” - Saturday, Oct. 9 at 7 p.m. 

  • Chris Stapleton “All-American Roadshow” - Thursday, Oct. 21 at 7 p.m.

Bogart’s (Cincinnati)

  • WALK THE MOON “Dream Plane” - Saturday and Sunday, Oct. 2-3 at 7 p.m. 

  • Emo Nite presented by Emo Nite LA - Friday, Nov. 19 at 9 p.m. 

  • Lawrence “The Hotel TV” - Saturday, Nov. 20 at 7 p.m. 

  • Jesse McCartney “The ‘New Stage’” - Saturday, Nov. 27 at 7 p.m. 

  • Motherfolk “A Very Motherfolk Christmas” - Friday, December 17 at 7 p.m. 

The Andrew J. Brady ICON Music Center (Cincinnati)

Enjoy what you're reading?
Signup for our newsletter

  • Earth, Wind & Fire - Friday, Oct. 1 at  8 p.m. 

  • Daughtry “The Dearly Beloved” - Tuesday, Nov. 2 at 7 p.m. 

EXPRESS LIVE! (Columbus)

  • Porter Robinson “Nurture Live” - Wednesday, Oct. 6 at 6 p.m. 

  • $uicideboy$ “Greyday” - Wednesday, Oct 13 at 6 p.m. 

  • LANY “gg bb xx” - Thursday, Oct 14 at 6:30 p.m. 

  • Jesse McCartney “The ‘New Stage’” - Saturday, Nov. 13 at 6:30 p.m. 

  • CHVRCHES - Saturday, Nov. 20 at 7 p.m. 

Nationwide Arena (Columbus) 

  • Twenty One Pilots “Takeover” - Wednesday, Friday and Saturday, Oct. 27, 29 and 30 at 8 p.m.  

  • Trans-Siberian Orchestra “Christmas Eve and Other Stories” - Sunday, December 26 at 3 p.m. and 8 p.m.  

penaml@miamioh.edu 



Comments

Trending