Established 1826 — Oldest College Newspaper West of the Alleghenies

ASG elects four on-campus senators, student trustee election committee members


Miami University’s Associated Student Government (ASG) held special elections for four on-campus senator positions and two positions on the student trustee election committee at its Sept. 29 meeting.

Most on-campus elections took place between Aug. 31 and Sept. 2, but eight seats — two from District 1, one from District 2, one from District 4, two from District 5 and two from District 6 —  remained unfilled due to a lack of candidates running.

Sophomores Michael Vestey and Harry Harman ran for the District 2 seat, which represents Beechwoods, Hillcrest, Maplestreet Station, Stonebridge and Etheridge Halls.

Vestey said, if elected, he would focus on making Miami feel like home for all students by improving accessibility and inclusion on campus.

Harman emphasized the importance of improving sustainability efforts on campus, while also providing resources for victims of sexual and interpersonal violence (SIV) and COVID-19.

ASG elected Harman to the position.

Sophomore Grace Kelley ran unopposed for one of the two open seats for District 5, which represents Hamilton, Minnich, Scott, MacCracken, Porter and Richard Halls. 

Kelley voiced concerns about the amount of waste being produced by dining halls and said she’d try to increase composting on campus if elected. She also expressed interest in expanding the meal swipe donation program ASG started last November. ASG elected her to the position.

First-years Tyler Storer and Anna Pritchard ran for the two open seats for District 6, which represents Collins, Dennison, Dorsey, McBride and Symmes Halls.

Storer said, if elected, he’d try to create more opportunities for students to meet each other and become more involved on campus, despite the COVID-19 pandemic.

Pritchard said she’d advocate for more political equality on campus and improved mental health services if elected.

ASG elected both Storer and Pritchard to the open seats.

Enjoy what you're reading?
Signup for our newsletter

Earlier in the meeting, ASG also elected two senators to the trustee election committee, which will help select the next student member of the Board of Trustees. Student Body President Jannie Kamara, Chief of Staff Connor Moreton and Secretary for Diversity and Inclusion Brandon Small are also members of the committee.

Current student trustees Will Kulis and Amitoj Kaur spoke to senate about the role of student trustees so they could better understand the responsibility of being on the selection committee.

Senators Jake Kravitz and Ethan Stack accepted nominations to run for the two spots on the committee. Senators Sidra Capriolo, Omar Elghazawi and Evan Gates were also nominated, but they declined to run.

Kravitz said he felt qualified to serve on the committee because he is very detail-oriented and is already knowledgeable about the work student trustees do.

Stack said he once presented a project to the board of trustees at the community college he attended before Miami, so he’s familiar with how the meetings typically go.

ASG elected both Kravitz and Stack to serve on the committee.